Berries Butterscotch-ed


With my income being reduced and earmarked mostly for bills, I started to visit my local food pantry to help supplement my grocery bill. So far I have been going on the days that my pantry has produce items, and each time I go I never know what items will be in stock that day. This time around I was a surprised to find that two bags of butterscotch morsels made it into bay shopping bag.

I won’t lie, when I got home it didn’t take long before I opened one of the bags of morsels and began snacking on them. After the second handful I realized they needed something more to them. Now, at the pantry I also picked up a small package of those spongy desert shells (you know the little round ones that look just perfect for a single serve strawberry shortcake?). I picked up the desert shells since they were the only cake item on the shelf for me to take that wasn’t of the chocolate cake or pie or twinkie variety (I’m technically on a diet here).

Now, when I was making dinner I kept eyeing the desert shells (thinking about strawberry shortcakes) and the butterscotch morsels (thinking about candy), then I had a lightbulb moment and thought “hey, why not eat both?”

And that is how I came up with this recipe.

Before I jump into the recipe, I want to note that this recipe was inspired by not wanting to eat an entire bag of butterscotch morsels one-by-one. I made this dish for myself, so the ingredient list is for a single serving. Since its a simple recipe, it should be super easy to double or triple for larger or multiple portions.  This recipe was written by me, on the fly, and measurements are not accurate. If you are a cook that needs explicit step-by-step directions, please proceed with caution.  For those who are of the school of “toss it in the pot and YUM”, then enjoy and you’re welcome.  If anyone posts this recipe on their own blogs, please give me full credit. 

*drooling*

Ingredients

  • One desert shell (or more if you plan on eating for two)
  • 3-4 strawberries, sliced
  • Several blueberries (and/or any other berry you have on hand)
  • Handful of butterscotch morsels
  • A splash of milk (guessed it might have been about 1 tsp)

Cooking Instructions

  1. Plate the desert shell. Top with berries. (yes, this recipe is a quick one for the hungry nosher).
  2. In a microwave safe cup or small bowl (I used a ramekin), add morsels and heat for about 30-45 seconds. Stir morsels to combine, then add milk, and stir again.
  3. Heat butterscotch mixture for 10-15 seconds. Stir the mixture until it takes on a smooth syrup consistency.
  4. Pour that melted butterscotch goodness on top of your berries and desert shell.  Eat. Enjoy.
3 thoughts on “Berries Butterscotch-ed

Leave a Reply

