From the Vine Pasta


I was really stumped on what to have for dinner tonight. I really wanted it to be healthy and none of the Lean Cuisines in my freezer were looking too appetizing. I remembered that the other day I picked up about 2 dozen plum tomatoes from a guy selling produce out of his pick-up. In my little neck of the woods in the city, the produce-from-the-truck was as close to a farmer’s market as I can get. (A farmer’s market is a short bus ride away, this guy was sitting at the end of the block the next street over from my house).

The kid’s were being ubber picky tonight and settled for leftover pizza and goldfish, so I pulled out a couple of tomatoes, some left over pasta, and whipped up this little dish.

Before I jump into the recipe, I want to note that this recipe was inspired having fresh from the farm tomatoes. I made this dish for myself, so the ingredient list is for 1-2 servings (depending on how hungry you are). Since its a simple recipe, it should be super easy to double or triple for larger or multiple portions.  This recipe was written by me, on the fly, and measurements are not accurate. If you are a cook that needs explicit step-by-step directions, please proceed with caution.  For those who are of the school of “toss it in the pot and YUM”, then enjoy and you’re welcome.  If anyone posts this recipe on their own blogs, please give me full credit. 

Ingredients

  • Two medium to large plum tomatoes, chopped/diced
  • Enough olive oil to coat the bottom of your saute pan (non-stick)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, mined
  • About 1 tsp of dried basil
  • About 4 grinds on my salt grinder
  • Pinch of dried thyme
  • Pinch or two of cayenne pepper
  • Serving or two of cooked pasta (your choice). I used a handful of cooked angel hair.

Cooking Instructions

  1. Heat saute pan on medium heat, then add olive oil, garlic, and tomatoes. Gently stir.
  2. Add in the basil, salt, thyme, and cayenne pepper. Gently toss.
  3. I let the tomatoes cook while I put away my ingredients, cleaned off my cutting board, and wiped up any mess I made. I think I might have refilled a sippy cup, put on a new show for the kids off Netflix, and did some mumbling about why the goddamn toys were still strewn all over the floor (I had been moaning about this all damn day). I think all this lasted probably about 8-10 mins tops.
  4. Turn heat down to low and add in the cooked pasta, Gently toss. If you didn’t use too much oil the bottom of the pan should be dry-ish with no excess oil laying under the pasta.
  5. Once the tomatoes are mixed through and the pasta hot, serve. Eat. Enjoy.

One thought on “From the Vine Pasta

Leave a Reply

