For the Love of Kale {Juice}


In keeping with trying to eat more healthy, and having about 4 pounds of grapes in the house, I whipped out my juicer, again.  The grapes were from hitting the local food pantry two weeks in a row. Two weeks where they gave me about 2-3 pounds of grapes. Even upon protest, I was still given this large quantity. I gave my aunt what I could and kept the rest knowing grapes make great juice.

Grapes alone aren’t the best to drink exclusively, so the next time I went food shopping I grabbed some apples, strawberries, and an my nemesis, kale.

What can I say about kale. Its dirt cheap and extremely good for you. It also tastes like (gr)ass. In previous juicing experiments I  discovered that juiced strawberries have a strong, yet super sweet flavor. So in a last ditch effort to give juiced kale a try I added a few handfuls of strawberries to my juiced kale and BAM, I was hooked. Been consuming kale by juice ever since.

My juicer. I have a love-hate relationship with that thing. I love juicing, hate cleaning the damn thing. I started to juice after I went out with a guy who was intensely into juice fasts. After doing some of my own research I figured I’d give it a go. However, when I did a rough calorie count on the fruits and veggies I made the juice with, it turned out that a 32-ounce juice was almost 500-calories, if not more. Juice fasting required you to drink about nearly 96-ounces of “juice” for the fast to be the most effective. The juices I made were yummy, but not filling. If I was going to drink 1,500-calories a day, I want to at least feel like something is in my stomach. Plus I can’t not chew something in order to fool my stomach that I am consuming food. So I juice now to drink non-sugary juices and to use up large quantities of fruits and veggies that are going bad before they go bad.

Before I jump into the recipe, I want to note that this recipe was inspired having too much fruit going bad in my fridge and not wanting to waste it. This recipe makes about 32-ounces of juice depending on the size of the fruit and how well your juicer extracts dry pulp.  This recipe was written by me, on the fly, and measurements are not accurate. If you are a cook that needs explicit step-by-step directions, please proceed with caution.  For those who are of the school of “toss it in the pot and YUM”, then enjoy and you’re welcome.  If anyone posts this recipe on their own blogs, please give me full credit. 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound of kale leaves. If they have stems on them, leave it, the more the merrier
  • 2 apples, any variety (Rome, McIntosh, and Granny Smith are usually the best to juice)
  • 1 peach (I found a mushy one in the back of the bin)
  • About a cup of whole strawberries
  • About 1.5 to 2 cups of green seedless grapes

Juicing Instructions

  1. Always follow the instructions of your juicer, each one operates slightly differently. Never ever use your fingers/hands to push fruit into the chute and grinding portion of your juicer.
  2. Roughly chop up the apples and peach into chunks that will easily fit down the chute of your juicer. Remove all pits and stems.
  3. Add the kale and fruit into the juicer one at a time and slowly. It doesn’t matter what order you do it in.
  4. Pour juice into a small pitcher or bottle. Store in fridge for up to 4-5 days. Separation of small pulp and juice may occur and its ok, just shake well before serving.

2 thoughts on “For the Love of Kale {Juice}

  1. My juice fast was tough… though I get tempted to try it again now and then for a quick fix. I love how healthy it was, I didn’t have the trouble with appetite while on it, but I did do a TON more veggies at night which helped me not feel hungry.

    This looks like a great recipe, I agree with you on Kale :D You rock!

  2. I really wish I could do a juice fast. I think I tried to replace breakfast and lunch with juice for about a week, and that was as far as I got, LOL. When I did those juices I would have a more fruit based one for breakfast, and a veggie one for lunch. I will admit I was starving at the end of the day. Maybe I wasn’t drinking enough juice?

Leave a Reply

