Mom’s Zucchini Bread [muffin-ized]


I had WAY too many zucchinis in the fridge, so much that I think I was running out of ideas what to do with it all. The zucchinis were another lot I picked up from the food pantry. Normally when I buy it from the store, I get no more than 2-3 single zucchinis. The pantry gave me 6 medium sized ones. I was over my mom’s house the day after I my pantry visit and asked my mom if and what I could do with it all. At this point my mom ran and got her trusty older-than-eternity cookbook and flipped to the back section meant for “NOTES”.

She insisted I make her zucchini bread recipe. I won’t lie, I love that recipe of hers, its the moistest bread recipe you’ll ever have. In fact to me it tastes a lot like carrot cake, minus the cream cheese frosting.  Problem was I didn’t want the temptation and potential over indulgence of zucchini bread in my face. My solution to this was to make her recipe into muffins that I can easy portion out as well as freeze. So this is what I did.

Before I jump into the recipe, I want to note that this recipe was found in my mom’s cookbook. The cover  to this cookbook has been long gone.  I suspect this cookbook is older than I am (she tells me it was a wedding shower gift). Not to mention this recipe was hand written into this cookbook and my mom can’t remember where she copied it from. (I was lucky she found this cookbook when I was there.) If anyone posts this recipe on their own blogs, please give me and my mom  full credit. 

Here is my mom’s recipe. Since I was too lazy to copy down the recipe I took a picture of it with my phone. I followed it verbatim, except for using a cup cake pan and liners instead of greasing/flouring two loaf pans. Oh another up side of the cupcakes was not having to grease/flour the loaf pans (huge pain-in-the-ass).

If you do make the cupcakes the only thing you have to remember is to fill the cupcake wells no more than 3/4 full and bake for 30-minutes, or until the point of where a toothpick comes out clean when inserted.

3 thoughts on “Mom’s Zucchini Bread [muffin-ized]

    • LOL… thank you. Zucchini and Summer squash have always been a staple in my diet in the past when I was trying to lose weight. Both have very delicate flavors and can easily be seasoned to fit any taste buds. Much better to fill up on than carbs.

      This summer I just seems to have lots of these vegetables at my fingertips, after a while I needed to find new ways to cook with them without getting bored or going bad.

  1. Pingback: Looking for New Ideas for Cooking up your Summertime Zucchini? Here are some great new recipes! » Two Frugal Mommas

Leave a Reply

