This FRESH SAUCE is one bad mother… SHUT YOUR MOUTH! I’m just talkin’ ’bout my PASTA SAUCE


So I almost did it again. I bought way too many fresh tomatoes from the farmer’s stand and they were starting to go bad in my crisper. I hate wasting food, and fresh tomatoes at that. I tried to rescue what I could, but I still have to part with about 4-5 plum tomatoes, and all of my large vine ripes had chunks that needed to be surgically removed. Once I had the survivors, I knew I needed to do something with them or risk having to throw more out. There was definitely way too many to be consumed, so I figured I’d take a stab at making my own pasta sauce.

Before I jumped into making this sauce I did some research on the best ways to get the skin off. I also discovered that despite scooping all the seeds out, I still needed to drain the tomatoes after they were pureed. The rest was so simple. The sauce came out great and I only wish I would have had the forethought to make this sauce before my tomatoes started to go bad.  One thing I did notice that even thought I used what seemed like a large amount of tomatoes, it only made about two portions of sauce. This recipe is one I can’t wait to do again, but might only do it if I get a good deal on a bushel of tomatoes.

Before I jump into the recipe, I want to note that this recipe was inspired by trying to use some fresh tomatoes before they went bad. This recipe was written by me, on the fly, and measurements are not accurate. If you are a cook that needs explicit step-by-step directions, please proceed with caution.  For those who are of the school of “toss it in the pot and YUM”, then enjoy and you’re welcome.  If anyone posts this recipe on their own blogs, please give me full credit. 

Delicious as it simmers

Ingredients

  • 3 medium to large vine ripe tomatoes
  • 4 plum tomatoes
  • 4-6 cloves of garlic, minced (what can I say I love garlic)
  • 2 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil (gotta use the good stuff)
  • 1 tbsp of dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp of thyme
  • Salt (to taste)

Cooking Instructions

  1. Get the skins of your tomatoes. To do this get a large pot of boiling water and a big bowl of ice water. Score the bottoms of each tomato (make a big X pattern). Drop 1-3 tomatoes into the boiling water (make sure there is plenty of room for each, no over crowding). Let tomatoes sit in the boiling water for about a min (you don’t want to cook the tomatoes). Fish them out and place into the bowl of ice water for about 2-3 min. After you pluck the tomatoes from the icewater the skins should kinda slide off when you put some pressure on them (if they don’t repeat this process).
  2. Once the skins are off the tomatoes de-seed them. I did this as I roughly cut them all up into golfball sized chunks.
  3. Throw the tomato chunks into a food processor and blend until its all uniform. I like a sauce with chunks in it so I didn’t blend them in the processor for long (maybe 30 seconds to a minute). Once blended, pour through a colander to drain the liquid out.
  4. In a sauce pot add the tomatoes, olive oil, garlic, basil, thyme, and salt. Simmer for 30 minutes over medium-low heat occasionally stirring.
  5. Serve over fresh pasta. Enjoy.

Leftovers all set for the fridge

2 thoughts on “This FRESH SAUCE is one bad mother… SHUT YOUR MOUTH! I’m just talkin’ ’bout my PASTA SAUCE

Leave a Reply

