Riddle me this


I stated to look into the costs of gyms again to help me narrow down the front runners.  I figured I’d also see if my employer offered any employee discounts with any of the gyms I am considering. Turns out my employer offers a discount with Bally’s Total Fitness.

Wait, isn’t Bally’s defunct?

Wait, they have 8 locations left all in the northern part of New Jersey, no where near me.

That’s helpful, lol.

I know that when the Bally’s in my area closed their doors there was a big uproar for everyone who had active memberships. The former Bally’s had been purchased by LA Fitness and they were going to honor all active Bally memberships.  Given this I still looked into the employee discount with Bally’s. Turns out the employee discount is the same price as a current Bally’s membership minus the registration fee, or $25/mo.  In looking into the cost of a membership at LA Fitness I noticed the membership is $20/mo.

Riddle me this… why is the employee discount more then the regular membership fee?

*smh*

I sent an email to the employee discount program asking if they were in the works for a discount with LA Fitness. We’ll see what they say. But, in the meantime I started to make a list of places, their cost, and the pros and cons.

LA Fitness: $20/mo

  • Pros: Locations near home and the office, Full gym, classes, trainers, daycare, some locations with pools, juice bar, reciprocal use of other locations
  • Cons: Huge place

Planet Fitness: $10-20/mo ($60 registration fee on the $10/mo membership)

  • Pros: Locations near home and friends, $20/mo membership includes free tanning-reciprocal use of other locations-unlimited guests
  • Cons: only cardio equipment and free weights, $10/mo membership is only for one location-no tanning-no guests

Retro Fitness: $20/mo

  • Pros: Locations near home
  • Cons: only cardio equipment and free weights

Curves: (doesn’t list price on website?)

  • Pros: only women
  • Cons: onlycardio equipment and free weights, only one location that is close to me/office

Lucille Roberts: $16-20/mo ($20-10 registration fee)

  • Pros: only women, full gym, trainers, classes
  • Cons: only one location that is close to me/office

Hmmmmm…. choices, choices, choices

Leave a Reply

