Better than Kozy Rice Pudding


In the first of my Single Mom Recipes, I made some rice pudding with left over Chinese take-out rice.

Before I jump into the recipe, I want to note that this recipe was written by me, on the fly, and measurements are not accurate. If you are a cook that needs explicit step-by-step directions, please proceed with caution.  For those who are of the school of “toss it in the pot and YUM”, then enjoy and you’re welcome.  If anyone posts this recipe on their own blogs, please give me full credit. I will also love you long time.

Ingredient List

  • Left over Chinese take-out rice, 1-quart minus one serving (I am guessing it was missing about a 1/2 cup?). Rice needs to be room temperature.
  • 3 to 4 2 cups of milk (I started with 1 cup and then it didn’t seem creamy enough, so I added more, the first run wasn’t as creamy, so it could have used more, which I think would be 3 to 4 2 cups total). I want to add that I edited the amount of milk on this. After my rice pudding chilled for a few hours it was the consistency of cold risotto, not pudding. Yeah, was way under on the milk estimation.
  • 2 eggs (I used large ones)
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract (my bottle had a easy pour spout, so it looked like 1 tsp to me, could have been 2 tsp, who knows)
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup of sugar (I just used what was in my sugar bowl, I am not a fan of overly sweet pudding, so if you are I’d add more)
  • Ground cinnamon, enough to lightly coat the top of the pot (it looked like maybe 1/2 tbsp to me, or slightly more, this spice is added to taste anyway)

Cooking Instructions

  1. Take a 2-4 quart saucepan and beat in two eggs, add milk and vanilla. Wisk over low to medium heat until its scolded (aka its hot, but won’t burn your finger off if you dip your finger in it).  The time it takes will depend on how high the heat is. I had mine of medium heat as I started to unload my dishwasher.
  2. Once the custard mixture is scolded, add rice. Wisk frequently over low to medium heat. If you are multitasking keep a close eye on this as it cooks. I was still unloading my dishwasher and I wisked the pot each time I was near the stove. I turned the heat down to low when I noticed the rice started to stick and burn to the bottom (this happened twice).
  3. Once the custard mixture lightly bubbles, turn the heat to low if you have not done so by now. Add the cinnamon, wisk. If the custard looks really thick add in more milk, enough to loosen it up to the original consistency after you first added the rice. If the custard is not sweet enough or needs more vanilla, this is where you need to add more of it.
  4. Cook until the rice is very soft. I think the whole cook time took about 30 mins for me, give or take. In the time I made this recipe I emptied and reloaded the dishwasher, put away my ingredients, wisked, stole a spoonful of ice cream from the fridge (Breyer’s Reese’s Peanut Butter cup), and pulled out my tupperware to store this all in (sounds like 20-30mins, right?)
  5. Place the rice pudding in a storage container of your choice. Be sure to let it cool to room temperature before placing in the fridge. Let pudding cool for best results. Serve plain, or with whipped cream (which I was fresh out of, but would have bought at the store had I known I was making this today).

Leave a Reply

