At a Crossroads


Yes, I have been quiet again. It only feels like a few days have gone by since I was last writing and posting on my blog. However, I know it has been almost 2 weeks and I have to say that time flew by at lightening speed. I have a few exciting posts lined up and just haven’t had the time to sit down and get the fingers flowing on the keyboard. Today I had a quiet moment to myself and I figured I try to cross off a few things on the old “to do list” before my ex-husband drops the kids back home.

First up, a little update. Overall, I am hanging in there. I had a few setbacks and I admit for a few days I wasn’t feeling myself.  I haven’t had any new temp jobs lately. My savings is down to the lint at the bottom of the piggy bank. The worst of the news is, despite doing temp work for 6 months, I don’t qualify to collect unemployment.

To help get by the best that I can, I started to get what I can at local food pantries, and started to clean houses. The money isn’t good, but its cash in my hand. The food at the panties isn’t much, but its food. I applied to a few positions I found online, including a few that are totally unrelated to my background, but if they are willing to take a chance on me, I’ll do the best that I can.

Another thing I have been working on is trying to dip my hands into some freelance writing.  I have a few hopeful leads, sent a few test articles out (another reason why I haven’t posted in a bit, I was writing, just not on this blog, LOL), so fingers crossed.

I also had a chance to head to the beach for a day or two, get my toes in the sand and relax. It was much needed and I only wish I could go more often.

I also have been working out more and more. Mr. Teacher got me a membership to his gym and I had been trying to go as much as I can. I figured if I am not working, or chasing after the kids, might as well do something constructive with my time. We all know I keep talking about working out and slimming down, well, now is the time I can. I haven’t weighed myself yet, but I do feel more energetic. Even this week I started to experiment with some light jogging on the treadmill. Its not much, I alternate with walking for 5 mins, and jogging for 1 min, for a total of 30 mins. So far I have been doing well with it, no feelings of being out of breath or exhausted, and only once I fell off the treadmill (hit the wrong button to pause the machine before trying to locate my fallen iPod).

I need to hit up a few more items on my To Do list for today. I have another fun post I have been meaning to get up about an event I went to 2 weeks ago. In the spirit of summer it involves the beach, sand, and well, lots of sand, lol.  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

