Summer Squash Pasta


After two rounds of roasting veggies with my broiler, I was starting to grow tired of summer squash and zucchini. I remember coming across a recipe once that made “pasta” out of zucchini ribbons and thought it was a cool idea. After trying to make some ribbons of squash I realized that it was not only going to take forever, but once I de-seeded the squash it was pretty hard to hold onto let alone make pretty long and wide ribbons.  I still wanted to make a “pasta” so I cut up my squash into strips that, to me, resembled some homemade fettuccine noodles.

And thus, summer squash pasta was born!

One thing I did notice was that summer squash was really filling when made this way. In addition, when I topped the “pasta” was sauce it almost tasted like I was eating real pasta. Minus the prep time of de-seeding and cutting up the squash, this was another easy recipe.

Before I jump into the recipe, I want to note that this recipe was inspired by having too many fresh veggies in the house and not wanting them to go bad (I had grilled some of my veggies, but I still had so many left). This recipe was written by me, on the fly, and measurements are not accurate. If you are a cook that needs explicit step-by-step directions, please proceed with caution.  For those who are of the school of “toss it in the pot and YUM”, then enjoy and you’re welcome.  If anyone posts this recipe on their own blogs, please give me full credit. 

I used my own tomato sauce =)

Ingredients

  • 6 medium summer squashes, de-seeded and cut into thin long strips
  • 1-2 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil (I like the good stuff)
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • Pinch of thyme
  • Sprinkling of cayenne pepper
  • Salt (to taste)
  • 1/2 glass of white or blush wine (optional)

Cooking Instructions

  1. In a saute pan over medium heat add olive oil, garlic, and summer squash strips. Toss until the squash is coated with oil and garlic.
  2. Add in thyme, cayenne, salt, and wine (wine makes everything better). Toss to coat again.
  3. Cook for over medium-low heat until strips are just tender (about 15 mins). Don’t forget to occasionally toss the squash.
  4. Top with your favorite tomato sauce (**hint hint**), enjoy alone, or add even use as a side dish. Enjoy.

Sauteed and pre-sauced

Leave a Reply

