Veggie Roasting


I was still fighting for ideas as to what to do with a batch of zucchini and summer squash I got from the food pantry. I wanted something not only simple, but refreshing, and would still taste awesome as leftovers. I had been hankering for some good grilled food, but I don’t have a BBQ grill. I do have a broiler, but I also have an unknown fear of broilers. Since I was craving for grilled food so badly I decided to face my broiler fear and grill up some veggies.

Before I jump into the recipe, I want to note that this recipe was inspired by having too many fresh veggies in the house and not wanting them to go bad.  I also used my in-over broiler (not the type that is a separate drawer). I was able to adjust the top rack and still have lots of clearance between the food and flame. If you can’t do this too, be careful not to have the food too close. I will not be responsible for any broiler fires. This recipe was written by me, on the fly, and measurements are not accurate. If you are a cook that needs explicit step-by-step directions, please proceed with caution.  For those who are of the school of “toss it in the pot and YUM”, then enjoy and you’re welcome.  If anyone posts this recipe on their own blogs, please give me full credit. 

Ingredients

  • 2-3 summer squashes, sliced lengthwise
  • 2-3 zucchinis, sliced lengthwise
  • Portabello mushroom caps (I know its not pictures in my photos, but on my second time making this recipe I roasted the large mushroom caps and it was awesome. I just had to add it to this recipe)
  • 1/4-1/2 of extra virgin olive oil (I like the good stuff)
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • Salt and pepper (to taste)

Cooking Instructions

  1. Take a metal cooling rack (don’t use a coated one) and place inside a cookie sheet. For easier clean-up line cookie sheet with a piece of aluminum foil.
  2. In a small cup or bowl mix olive oil and garlic.
  3. Layer the sliced veggies on the cooling rack. Brush the veggies with the oil-garlic mixture. Sprinkle veggies with salt (sea salt is best) and pepper (fresh ground is best).
  4. Broil on high for about 5-10 minutes depending on how close the food is to the boiling element.
  5. Pull veggies from broiler. Turn each piece over, coat with oil-garlic mixture, salt and pepper. Place veggies back in broiler for another 5-10 min. You can broil longer if you want your veggies cook a little more, just keep a close eye as to not overcook/burn your veggies.
  6. Eat warm, cold, alone, or on top of other foods.

Below are some pictures of things I did with my roasted veggies:

Turn plain cheese pizza into summer a fresh treat

Grilled veggie sandwiches are the best!

Leave a Reply

