Quiche Me


WIC was giving me a dozen of eggs each month. I love eggs and loving having them in the house, but neither one of my kids eat eggs and after while I found myself with about 3 dozen eggs in my fridge. I knew I had to use them and there are only so many omelettes I can take.  I had noticed that I had a frozen pie crust in the back of my freezer and I figured I could knock about about a half dozen eggs in a quiche, not to mention have about 3 days worth of meals (for myself) ready to go.

Hence, my quiche recipe was born!

Before I jump into the recipe, I want to note that this recipe was inspired by having way too many eggs in the house. This recipe was written by me, on the fly, and measurements are not accurate. If you are a cook that needs explicit step-by-step directions, please proceed with caution.  For those who are of the school of “toss it in the pot and YUM”, then enjoy and you’re welcome.  If anyone posts this recipe on their own blogs, please give me full credit. 

Ingredients

  • 6 large eggs
  • About a half of a package of frozen spinach. Thawed and drained (Please do not use frozen or undrained or you might risk having a watery gooey quiche, ick!)
  • About 1/2-cup of milk (You can use more for a fluffier and softer quiche, but I just wanted to use as many eggs as possible to fill that pie crust)
  • A few handfuls of shredded cheddar and monterrey jack cheese blend; I suppose it was about 1 cup.
  • 1 frozen pie crust (remaining frozen)
  • 1/2 tsp of tarragon
  • A few pinches of cayenne pepper
  • A few pinches of Salt

Cooking Instructions

  1. Pre-heat that oven at 350-degrees.
  2. Beat all 6 beats well, add in the milk and mix.
  3. In the frozen pie crust add in the spinach and half of the cheese, top with the egg mixture.
  4. Stir the eggs, spinach, and cheese gently, but well. Top with the remaining cheese.
  5. Place quiche on a cookie sheet and bake in the oven for about 45-minutes. Quiche should be firm but have a light spring to the touch. Cool for about 5-10- mins before serving.

Leave a Reply

