Crepe Me with Your Best Shot


I took the kids to a fall festival a few weekends ago and when we were deciding on what to get for lunch I spotted a crepe stand. It has been ages, and I mean ages, since I had a good crepe. My dad used to make them all the time when I was a kid; he called them “jelly rolls” since we filled them with jelly, rolled them into a tube, then cut into round slices. At the festival I had one filled with ham and cheddar that was so amazing that I almost went back for seconds.

Its been at least 2-3 weeks since I had those crepes at the festival and I was still craving for some.  Well, this morning I made some. The recipe is so simple and so easy to remember, and they cook up fast too. I would have made these on another weekend, but in this house I am always running out of milk. This morning I actually had enough for a quick batch.

Before I jump into the recipe, I want to note that these recipes were inspired by a really bad craving for crepes after I had some really yummy ones at a local festival. I made these dishes for myself, so the ingredient list is for a single serving. Since they are simple recipes, it should be super easy to double or triple for larger or multiple portions.  These recipes were written by me, on the fly, and measurements are not accurate. If you are a cook that needs explicit step-by-step directions, please proceed with caution.  For those who are of the school of “toss it in the pot and YUM”, then enjoy and you’re welcome.  If anyone posts this recipe on their own blogs, please give me full credit. 

Filled with the yummy goodness of strawberry preserve and nuetella

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of flour, unsifted (I never sift my flour, like ever)
  • 1 cup of milk (maybe a splash more if the batter is too thick)
  • 1 large egg
  • Little bit of vegetable oil (optional, but needed if you don’t have a non-stick pan)

Cooking Instructions

  1. Mix the flour, milk, and egg in a bowl. The batter should be really loose, like a milk shake that has melted because the kids were up your ass.
  2. Heat a small non-stick skillet. Make sure the pan is hot. If the coating on your pan is old and not in the best shape wipe the pan with an oil coated paper towel. You don’t want the crepes to fry up, but you also don’t want them to stick either. If you don’t have a non-stick pan, pour a dollop of oil in the pan and wipe with a paper towel.
  3. Pour enough batter into the pan where the bottom is about 1/3 to 1/2 coated. Lift the pan and move it back and forth to spread the batter across the bottom of the pan. You want a nice thin even layer.
  4. Once the batter looks dry (about 2 mins), take a spatula and flip it over. Cook the other side for about a minute.
  5. Repeat step #3 until you run out of batter. Should make about 8 small crepes (more or less depends on the thickness of your batter, how much your poured into the pan, and the size of the pan).
  6. Fill crepes with anything you want. Crepes have no real flavor so you can fill it with jelly, nuetella, fruit, meats and cheeses, roasted veggies… possibilities are endless. If you do spread something on the crepes use just a thin smear, trust me, otherwise it just oozes out when you eat them.
  7. I fold my crepes into a 1/4 pocket shape and eat by hand, but folding over once or twice and eating with a fork works too.
  8. If you have left over crepes store them in a ziplock with wax paper between each crepe (just be sure the crepes are cooled before using the wax paper).

Forget about a pocket full of sunshine, I have a plate full of crepes!

Leave a Reply

